Two ECE graduate students, Jennifer Byford and Marisel Villafane-Delgado, have been awarded the 2016-2017 Future Academic Scholars in Teaching (FAST) Fellowship.  

Jennifer Byford is currently a doctoral student under Dr. Premjeet Chahal in the Terahertz Systems Laboratory. Prior to joining the group as a graduate student in spring of 2014 she earned her Bachelor's degree in Electrical Engineering from Michigan State University where she was also part of the Honors College. Her research interests include metamaterials, millimeter/terahertz active and passive devices, reconfigurable antennas, sensors, biomedical applications for terahertz radiation, and engineering education.







Marisel Villafañe-Delgado is a third year Ph.D. student in Electrical Engineering.  She completed a Master of Science in Electrical Engineering from the University of Maryland in 2013, a Bachelor of Science in Electrical Engineering from the University of Puerto Rico at Mayagüez in 2011, and a Bachelor of Science in Electronics Engineering Technology from the University of Puerto Rico at Bayamón in 2008.  Her current research focuses on the study of functional connectivity networks in the human brain, under Dr. Selin Aviyente's supervision.  Her long-term goals include becoming a faculty member and continuing working on the applications of signal processing to neuroscience as well as the development of effective teaching techniques.